MLB Baseball

#41
Mark Melancon
ERA S K
4.02 1 37
Team: San FranciscoHt / Wt: 6-1 / 214
Position: RPBorn: 3/28/1985 Birthplace: Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Yankees (2006)


Latest News
July 17 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST4:45 PM CST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Mark Melancon recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Colorado Rockies 11-8 on Wednesday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
July 17 9:18 PM PT10:18 PM MT11:18 PM CT12:18 AM ET0:18 ET4:18 GMT12:18 9:18 PM MST11:18 PM EST10:18 PM CST11:48 PM VEN8:18 UAE11:18 PM CT-Mark Melancon walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Colorado Rockies 8-4 on Tuesday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
July 14 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST3:41 PM CST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Mark Melancon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 8-3 on Sunday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
July 12 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST9:49 PM CST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 10-7 on Friday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
July 7 10:23 PM PT11:23 PM MT12:23 AM CT1:23 AM ET1:23 ET5:23 GMT13:23 10:23 PM MST12:23 AM EST11:23 PM CST12:53 AM VEN9:23 UAE12:23 AM CT-Mark Melancon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 8-4 on Saturday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
July 6 10:42 PM PT11:42 PM MT12:42 AM CT1:42 AM ET1:42 ET5:42 GMT13:42 10:42 PM MST12:42 AM EST11:42 PM CST1:12 AM VEN9:42 UAE12:42 AM CT-Mark Melancon allowed two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 9-4 on Friday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
June 30 10:27 PM PT11:27 PM MT12:27 AM CT1:27 AM ET1:27 ET5:27 GMT13:27 10:27 PM MST12:27 AM EST11:27 PM CST12:57 AM VEN9:27 UAE12:27 AM CT-Mark Melancon allowed three runs - two earned - on four hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3 on Saturday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
June 28 9:31 PM PT10:31 PM MT11:31 PM CT12:31 AM ET0:31 ET4:31 GMT12:31 9:31 PM MST11:31 PM EST10:31 PM CST12:01 AM VEN8:31 UAE11:31 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-1 on Thursday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
June 26 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST4:42 PM CST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Colorado Rockies 6-3 on Wednesday. Melancon struck out three, ending the game with a 3.58 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
June 23 4:29 PM PT5:29 PM MT6:29 PM CT7:29 PM ET19:29 ET23:29 GMT7:29 4:29 PM MST6:29 PM EST5:29 PM CST6:59 PM VEN3:29 UAE (+1)6:29 PM CT-Mark Melancon fell to 3-2, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 0.1 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Sunday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
June 23 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST11:34 PM CST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE12:34 AM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-4 on Saturday. Melancon struck out two, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 21 10:39 PM PT11:39 PM MT12:39 AM CT1:39 AM ET1:39 ET5:39 GMT13:39 10:39 PM MST12:39 AM EST11:39 PM CST1:09 AM VEN9:39 UAE12:39 AM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-8 on Thursday. Melancon struck out two, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
June 19 10:12 PM PT11:12 PM MT12:12 AM CT1:12 AM ET1:12 ET5:12 GMT13:12 10:12 PM MST12:12 AM EST11:12 PM CST12:42 AM VEN9:12 UAE12:12 AM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-0 on Tuesday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
June 15 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST11:21 PM CST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Friday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 12 9:48 PM PT10:48 PM MT11:48 PM CT12:48 AM ET0:48 ET4:48 GMT12:48 9:48 PM MST11:48 PM EST10:48 PM CST12:18 AM VEN8:48 UAE11:48 PM CT-Mark Melancon improved to 3-1, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the San Diego Padres 6-5 on Tuesday. Melancon struck out two, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 8 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-2 on Saturday. Melancon struck out three, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 6 11:56 AM PT12:56 PM MT1:56 PM CT2:56 PM ET14:56 ET18:56 GMT2:56 11:56 AM MST1:56 PM EST12:56 PM CST2:26 PM VEN22:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Mark Melancon fell to 2-1, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the New York Mets 7-3 on Thursday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.70 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 4 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Mark Melancon improved to 2-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the New York Mets 9-3 on Tuesday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 1 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST4:59 PM CST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-2 on Saturday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.42 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
May 29 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Miami Marlins 4-2 on Wednesday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.53 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 25 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST5:14 PM CST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 10-4 on Saturday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.21 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
May 23 5:10 PM PT6:10 PM MT7:10 PM CT8:10 PM ET20:10 ET0:10 GMT8:10 5:10 PM MST7:10 PM EST6:10 PM CST7:40 PM VEN4:10 UAE (+1)7:10 PM CT-Mark Melancon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-4 on Thursday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 2.33 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 22 10:07 PM PT11:07 PM MT12:07 AM CT1:07 AM ET1:07 ET5:07 GMT13:07 10:07 PM MST12:07 AM EST11:07 PM CST12:37 AM VEN9:07 UAE12:07 AM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-3 on Tuesday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
May 19 4:45 PM PT5:45 PM MT6:45 PM CT7:45 PM ET19:45 ET23:45 GMT7:45 4:45 PM MST6:45 PM EST5:45 PM CST7:15 PM VEN3:45 UAE (+1)6:45 PM CT-Mark Melancon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Sunday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 2.60 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 15 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST4:49 PM CST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Mark Melancon improved to 1-0, allowing two hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-3 on Wednesday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 2.76 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 12 9:10 PM PT10:10 PM MT11:10 PM CT12:10 AM ET0:10 ET4:10 GMT12:10 9:10 PM MST11:10 PM EST10:10 PM CST11:40 PM VEN8:10 UAE11:10 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Saturday. Melancon struck out three, ending the game with a 2.93 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
May 9 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST5:11 PM CST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)6:11 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed two runs on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Colorado Rockies 12-11 on Thursday. Melancon struck out three, ending the game with a 3.14 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
May 3 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST9:47 PM CST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one run on one hit and two walks in 1.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Cincinnati Reds 12-11 on Friday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.03 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 10:44 PM PT11:44 PM MT12:44 AM CT1:44 AM ET1:44 ET5:44 GMT13:44 10:44 PM MST12:44 AM EST11:44 PM CST1:14 AM VEN9:44 UAE12:44 AM CT-Mark Melancon allowed two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the New York Yankees 7-3 on Friday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.54 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Mark Melancon did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-6 on Tuesday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Mark Melancon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Washington Nationals 4-2 on Thursday. Melancon struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Mark Melancon walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Washington Nationals 7-3 on Tuesday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 12:55 AM PT1:55 AM MT2:55 AM CT3:55 AM ET3:55 ET7:55 GMT15:55 12:55 AM MST2:55 AM EST1:55 AM CST3:25 AM VEN11:55 UAE2:55 AM CT-Mark Melancon allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Colorado Rockies 3-2 on Friday. Melancon struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 9:28 PM PT10:28 PM MT11:28 PM CT12:28 AM ET0:28 ET4:28 GMT12:28 9:28 PM MST11:28 PM EST10:28 PM CST11:58 PM VEN8:28 UAE11:28 PM CT-Mark Melancon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the San Diego Padres 7-2 on Tuesday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST5:19 PM CST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)6:19 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-0 on Sunday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 4:45 PM PT5:45 PM MT6:45 PM CT7:45 PM ET19:45 ET23:45 GMT7:45 4:45 PM MST6:45 PM EST5:45 PM CST7:15 PM VEN3:45 UAE (+1)6:45 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-2 on Friday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Mark Melancon did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-3 on Wednesday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Mark Melancon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Monday. Melancon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 10:24 PM PT11:24 PM MT12:24 AM CT1:24 AM ET1:24 ET5:24 GMT13:24 10:24 PM MST12:24 AM EST11:24 PM CST12:54 AM VEN9:24 UAE11:24 PM CT-Mark Melancon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the San Diego Padres 4-1 on Friday. Melancon struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 NYY 0 1 0 - 1 13 0 0 16.1 13 8 7 0 10 0 10 1.41 3.86
2010 NYY 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 4.0 7 5 4 1 0 0 3 1.75 9.00
2010 Hou 2 0 0 - 1 20 0 0 17.1 12 8 6 1 8 0 19 1.15 3.12
2010 Tot 2 0 0 - 1 22 0 0 21.1 19 13 10 2 8 0 22 1.27 4.22
2011 Hou 8 4 20 - 25 71 0 0 74.1 65 28 23 5 26 6 66 1.22 2.78
2012 Bos 0 2 1 - 2 41 0 0 45.0 45 31 31 8 12 1 41 1.27 6.20
2013 Pit 3 2 16 - 21 72 0 0 71.0 60 15 11 1 8 0 70 0.96 1.39
2014 Pit 3 5 33 - 37 72 0 0 71.0 51 15 15 2 11 1 71 0.87 1.90
2015 Pit 3 2 51 - 53 78 0 0 76.2 57 22 19 4 14 2 62 0.93 2.23
2016 Pit 1 1 30 - 33 45 0 0 41.2 31 10 7 2 9 0 38 0.96 1.51
2016 Was 1 1 17 - 18 30 0 0 29.2 21 6 6 1 3 0 27 0.81 1.82
2016 Tot 2 2 47 - 51 75 0 0 71.1 52 16 13 3 12 0 65 0.90 1.64
2017 SF 1 2 11 - 16 32 0 0 30.0 37 16 15 3 6 0 29 1.43 4.50
2018 SF 1 4 3 - 7 41 0 0 39.0 48 18 14 2 14 2 31 1.59 3.23
2019 SF 3 2 1 - 1 39 0 0 40.1 47 19 18 3 16 2 37 1.56 4.02
Career 26 26 183 - 215 556 0 0 556.1 494 201 176 33 137 14 504 1.13 2.85

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Hou 71 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -
Career 556 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Pit Total 1 0 0 - 1 4 0 0 3.2 5 4 4 2 1 0 2 9.82
    LDS 1 0 0 - 1 4 0 0 3.2 5 4 4 2 1 0 2 9.82
2014 Pit Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2015 Pit Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
2016 Was Total 0 0 1 - 1 4 0 0 4.1 3 0 0 0 2 2 5 0.00
    LDS 0 0 1 - 1 4 0 0 4.1 3 0 0 0 2 2 5 0.00
Career 1 0 1 - 2 10 0 0 10.0 9 4 4 2 3 2 8 3.60


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 94 94 90 92 14.2
Curveball 183 85 80 82.4 27.64
Changeup 23 86 81 83 3.47
Cut Fastball 362 94 89 91.7 54.68

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.