MLB Baseball

#32
Matt Barnes
ERA S K
2.97 15 53
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-4 / 208
Position: RPBorn: 6/17/1990 Birthplace: Danbury, Connecticut
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Red Sox (2011)


Latest News
June 22 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST9:35 PM CST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Matt Barnes walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 9-5 on Tuesday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 2.97 ERA and 0.79 WHIP on the season.
June 15 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his 15th save, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Atlanta Braves 10-8 on Tuesday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 3.07 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
June 15 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his 15th save, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Atlanta Braves 10-8 on Tuesday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 3.07 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
June 10 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Matt Barnes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Houston Astros 12-8 on Thursday. Barnes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
June 6 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Matt Barnes improved to 2-1, allowing one run on one hit and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 6-5 on Sunday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 0.72 WHIP on the season.
June 5 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)8:33 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his 14th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 7-3 on Saturday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 2.49 ERA and 0.63 WHIP on the season.
June 4 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his 13th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 5-2 on Friday. Barnes struck out three, ending the game with a 2.52 ERA and 0.64 WHIP on the season.
May 29 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST5:52 PM CST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his 12th save, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Miami Marlins 3-1 on Saturday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
May 27 10:36 PM PT11:36 PM MT12:36 AM CT1:36 AM ET1:36 ET5:36 GMT13:36 10:36 PM MST12:36 AM EST11:36 PM CST1:06 AM VEN9:36 UAE11:36 PM CT-Matt Barnes did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-5 on Wednesday. Barnes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.35 ERA and 0.61 WHIP on the season.
May 22 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Saturday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 2.42 ERA and 0.63 WHIP on the season.
May 20 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-7 on Thursday. Barnes struck out three, ending the game with a 2.53 ERA and 0.56 WHIP on the season.
May 16 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST2:32 PM CST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)2:32 PM CT-Matt Barnes fell to 1-1, allowing two runs on two hits in 1.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 6-5 on Sunday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 2.66 ERA and 0.54 WHIP on the season.
May 14 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-3 on Friday. Barnes struck out three, ending the game with a 1.89 ERA and 0.47 WHIP on the season.
May 9 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST2:07 PM CST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)2:07 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-3 on Sunday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 2.00 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
May 5 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST9:49 PM CST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Matt Barnes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 6-5 on Wednesday. Barnes struck out three, ending the game with a 2.12 ERA and 0.53 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Detroit Tigers 11-7 on Tuesday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 0.56 WHIP on the season.
May 2 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Matt Barnes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Texas Rangers 5-3 on Sunday. Barnes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.51 ERA and 0.63 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST7:41 PM CST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)7:41 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 1-0 on Wednesday. Barnes struck out three, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 0.57 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)7:55 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 2-1 on Tuesday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 0.62 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)2:09 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-3 on Sunday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Matt Barnes allowed three runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 6-5 on Friday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Matt Barnes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-3 on Thursday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.90 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his third save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-2 on Tuesday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 1.00 ERA and 0.56 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 4:46 PM PT5:46 PM MT6:46 PM CT7:46 PM ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 4:46 PM MST6:46 PM EST5:46 PM CST7:16 PM VEN3:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Matt Barnes allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-4 on Saturday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 1.13 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST3:00 PM CST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 3-2 on Wednesday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST3:36 PM CST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Matt Barnes recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 4-2 on Tuesday. Barnes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Matt Barnes improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-4 on Saturday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.20 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST4:20 PM CST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Matt Barnes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-3 on Thursday. Barnes struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST9:57 PM CST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Matt Barnes did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 6-5 on Tuesday. Barnes struck out four, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)2:46 PM CT-Matt Barnes walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 11-3 on Sunday. Barnes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Bos 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 9.0 11 4 4 1 2 0 8 1.44 4.00
2015 Bos 3 4 0 - 0 32 2 0 43.0 56 28 26 9 15 0 39 1.65 5.44
2016 Bos 4 3 1 - 2 62 0 0 66.2 62 32 30 6 31 1 71 1.40 4.05
2017 Bos 7 3 1 - 3 70 0 0 69.2 57 31 30 7 28 0 83 1.22 3.88
2018 Bos 6 4 0 - 3 62 0 0 61.2 47 25 25 5 31 1 96 1.26 3.65
2019 Bos 5 4 4 - 12 70 0 0 64.1 51 29 27 8 38 2 110 1.38 3.78
2020 Bos 1 3 9 - 13 24 0 0 23.0 18 13 11 4 14 1 31 1.39 4.30
2021 Bos 3 1 15 - 18 30 0 0 30.1 16 10 10 3 8 1 53 0.79 2.97
Career 29 22 30 - 51 355 2 0 367.2 318 172 163 43 167 6 491 1.32 3.99

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Bos 70 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 355 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 6 2 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.2 3 1 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2018 Bos Total 4 0 0 - 0 20 0 0 17.1 6 2 2 2 12 0 18 1.04
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 4.1 1 1 1 1 4 0 4 2.08
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.1 2 0 0 0 1 0 4 0.00
Career 2 0 0 - 0 11 0 0 10.1 6 2 1 1 6 0 10 0.87


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 248 99 93 96.1 53.8
Curveball 213 89 83 85.7 46.2

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.